Jul 132017

Candidates who qualified for the District A seat on the City Council on Wednesday morning were (top row, from left) Joe Giarrusso III, Tilman Hardy, Drew Ward. In District B, (bottom row) Jay H. Banks and Seth Bloom qualified. (UptownMessenger.com graphic via candidates’ photos)

Uptown Messenger

An entrepreneur and Carrollton neighborhood leader joined the field for the District A seat on the New Orleans City Council on Wednesday, as candidates began filing their paperwork to appear on the ballot.

Tilman Hardy was among the first candidates to file for the District A seat being vacated by term-limited Councilwoman Susan Guidry. A U.S. Army veteran, Hardy is the founder and CEO of the nonprofit Core USA community development firm — which conducts training in environmental certification and consulting on real-estate development — and a leader of the Pensiontown Neighborhood Association, which represents the upriver areas of Carrollton.

Hardy has been an active voice in Carrollton neighborhood issues for years, arguing for the redevelopment of the former Priestley school site, criticizing the halting progress on a Carrollton community center, and promoting the development of his organization’s own headquarters at Leonidas and Willow.

Filing to appear on the ballot for the Oct. 14 mayoral and City Council races began at 8 a.m. Wednesday morning. Lakeview neighborhood leader Joe Giarrusso III and Carrollton activist Drew Ward both filed their campaign paperwork to run on the District A seat as well. Former City Hall staffer Aylin Maklansky is also expected to file for the seat.

To read the full story and see who has qualified for the District B race, visit our sister site UptownMessenger.com.

  One Response to “Another contender joins District A race as filing opens”

  1. This is easily the most diverse slate of candidates I’ve ever witnessed for any Orleans Parish office, and if Maklansky gets into the race, all the more so!

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>